The Uganda National Council for Higher Education was established as a higher education regulating body in Uganda with the responsibility of ensuring standards in the establishment of higher education institutions as well as the programs offered by those higher education institutions. Traditional Higher Education Institutions have offered programmes under the face-to-face mode of learning where the lecturer physically interacts with learners in the delivery, practicum and discussions. However, because of the increased demand for access, and the need to ensure lifelong learning through opportunities for progression, many Higher Education Institutions globally have opened up opportunities for ODeL to operate as an additional mode of learning.

In addition, there are now a growing number of HEI in the country that have proposed to offer programmes or are already offering programmes using ODeL mode of learning. It is therefore important to ensure that the quality graduates whether from ODeL or traditional mode of learning are not compromised.



The physical limitations on interaction imposed by the Covid-19 pandemic further accelerated the need for the Higher Education mandatory shift to ODeL to enable continued access to Learning and teaching. NCHE therefore developed guidelines for Emergency ODeL in June 2020 for the lockdown period.

List of Institutions approved for ODeL

[ninja_tables id=”6105″]

File Downloads